Most recent posts

  XML Feeds


« When Choosing Employee Benefits, Don't Overlook VisionMedBen Promotes Prescription Plan Transparency -- And Maximum Client Savings »

MedBen Honors Benchmark Anniversaries At Employee Ceremony


  03:02:36 pm, by MedBen5   , 296 words,  
Categories: Announcements

MedBen Honors Benchmark Anniversaries At Employee Ceremony

MedBen Employee Recognition Ceremony

At an employee appreciation luncheon on Friday, October 18, MedBen honored employees who have reached anniversary benchmarks in 2013. Receiving special congratulations was Director of Accounting Operations Anita Sheppard, who is celebrating her 25th year with the company.

MedBen Chairman & CEO Doug Freeman, who hosted the ceremony, commended Sheppard for her “loyalty and dedication to the team,” and thanked her for a quarter-century of service.

Sheppard worked her way up at MedBen, starting in 1988 as company receptionist. She later performed various jobs in the Administration and Billing departments before becoming an Accounting Manager in 2004. She was named a Director in 2012.

Asked after the luncheon what she enjoyed most about working at MedBen, Sheppard replied that she appreciated the company’s flexibility and its belief in family values. “MedBen makes it easy to balance work and home lives,” she said.

Freeman also acknowledged the service of Senior Underwriting Manager Charlotte Crandall, who will retire later this year after 23 years with MedBen.

Crandall joined MedBen as a member of its Proposal Unit before becoming Underwriting Coordinator in 1992. In the ensuing two decades, she performed underwriting duties for thousands of groups – “and throughout it all, Charlotte was a true professional,” Freeman noted.

Crandall, who was named Senior Underwriting Manager in 2007, said after the ceremony that while she was looking forward to retirement, she would miss her co-workers: “I love these people.”

Other MedBen employees honored at the luncheon include:

  • 20 Years of Service: Arleen George, Chuck Jindra and Bobbie Painter.
  • 15 Years of Service: Pam Fitch, Rebecca Hampton, Tammy Jones, Tina Peck, Sheila Ree, Billie Rotert, Charlene Schaffner, Michelle Schmus, Kelly Stare, Marsha Summitt and Tessie Young.
  • 10 Years of Service: Dan Bednar, Wendell Crain, Dru Ann Meek, Christy Modesitt, Jeanne Olsen and Sharon Weaver.
  • 5 Years of Service: Vicki Annarino and Jennifer Baughman.

No feedback yet